Bump Naturally – Childbirth Education & Doula

Natural Childbirth Education, Doula, Photographer – Bossier City, LA / Shreveport, LA

A Year of Nursing

Leave a comment

If you do any sort of research, you’ll easily discover why breastfeeding is the most natural and nutritious way to feed your baby. Why, then do so many people have trouble and give up? In all honesty, mothers are pretty much set up to fail in our society. At my first OB appointment, I was given a packet with pregnancy information and a sample of formula. This alone, sends the message to expecting women that formula is the new normal or even that they may NEED it. There is also this misconception that our bodies have these fragile systems that are likely to fail, while in reality 95-99% of women will produce enough milk for their babies (see article here). In a perfect world, this welcome packet from OBs and midwives would include breastfeeding info, support groups and even some supply boosting supplements!

Nursing Mama

As I approach my 1 year anniversary of nursing, I am grateful that I had the support (from my husband, friends and pediatrician) to make it this far. I remember thinking around 2 months that I would never make it to my initial 6 month goal. Although it looked like Bradley had a “good latch” he wasn’t latching deep enough and his hard palate was causing some serious nipple trauma. Through breastfeeding support groups (on Facebook), I was able to troubleshoot my issues and finally correct his shallow latch!

While I was proactive by taking a breastfeeding class and watching breastfeeding videos while pregnant, having an interactive support group was key to our success! If you are planning to breastfeed or currently struggling, the best advice I can give you is to get help via a lactation consultant and connect with other women through local breastfeeding support groups (Breastfeeding Moms of Shreveport/Bossier, La Leche League Shreveport Bossier City). Support is key to a long term breastfeeding relationship!

Now the only issue I have is wondering how I will ever get him to wean… 😉

Author: BumpNaturally

My passions are: natural birth, breastfeeding, attachment parenting, photography & social media

Leave a Reply

