Bump Naturally – Childbirth Education & Doula

Natural Childbirth Education, Doula, Photographer – Bossier City, LA / Shreveport, LA

Childbirth Education: A Husband’s Perspective

Leave a comment

My husband will be the first to admit that he wasn’t gung-ho about taking a natural childbirth class when I suggested the idea. Paying $350 to learn how to do something people have been doing since the beginning of time… he figured we could just google stuff or read a book. He thought he’d either be uncomfortable and bored to tears wishing he could be researching his fantasy football team instead. It took some convincing on my end that this was something WE needed to do to calm my anxiety and be prepared to welcome our son.

10291797_10101629735838166_7621156719031196042_nFlash forward to post birth and my husband is a huge advocate of childbirth education and fully supported my decision to become a certified Birth Boot Camp Instructor!

Lets face it, men like to feel like they are in control of the situation and often times during labor, the partner is left feeling helpless while mom is laboring. Thanks to our classes with Doula Hoops (in Minot, ND), he was able to read my cues and know which stage of labor I was in. Without him knowing what signs to look for, we would have had an accidental unassisted home birth! I was in complete denial that I had progressed THAT quickly and needed to get to my birth place stat!10403316_10101669223210156_1291787121387390158_n

Don’t just take my word for it, here is what my husband had to say about taking a class in preparation for the birth of our son:

“I was very skeptical about paying for/committing to a natural childbirth class. However, once the series began, I found the class to be interesting. When the big day finally came, it was fairly evident that the training was invaluable!” – Mike Stepan

The knowledge and confidence you and your partner will gain from a childbirth class is immeasurable! Not to mention the amazing relationships you create with other couples who are experiencing their pregnancies at the same time!

If you’re interested in a natural childbirth class, I offer 10-week Birth Boot Camp classes in Bossier City, LA.

 

Author: BumpNaturally

My passions are: natural birth, breastfeeding, attachment parenting, photography & social media

Leave a Reply

